Letting Go……How hard can it be??

let go

My two year old cupcake is a fiesty lil bundle. I have often described her to friends as a just shaken effervescent bottle of Coke and i sometimes feel that is an understatement! She’s smart, sassy, and downright entertaining (or maybe its just cos i’m her mommy?). But, everyone who’s ever met her or spent time with her concurrs!

Some days ago, she had a shirt with her and tried to do up the buttons. After trying and not getting the progress she was expecting, she turned to me and went “mommy, button it for me”, which was well and good; but she made no attempt to release the shirt! In her mind, i was going to take the shirt and do up all the buttons, when all she wanted was a demo with one button! So she’s complaining ‘do it for me’ and at the same time i’m complaining “sweetie, just let go” and the shirt is still unbuttoned and i’m getting frustrated and…. Then it hit me: this baby is just like me!

In my every day life, i have so many situations like this one! I have a challenge/problem/situation/issue and like the word says i try to give it to God to take care of it for me…but i dont surrender…no! I still hang on, trying to solve a problem i supposedly just surrendered to the Lord! And just like it was with Sunshine, while i’m not letting go, the problem isnt being solved! God doesn’t want to contend for power with a control freak like me, or my fiesty Sunshine for that matter! He needs full control, willingly offered. That’s why part of my resolutions (i prefer decisions) for 2013 include not stressing myself over things i cant change. If its not working, i’ll just go back to a habit i developed in university/nysc that worked wonders! Get a shoe box and label it “Things for God to handle” and then write down on individual pieces of paper every issue  I’m challenged with and  afterwards toss the paper into the box and will myself to forget about it! I’ll tell you something about how this helped me years ago. When i opened the box in a month or 2 to review the issues i had been bothered by, i realised they had either been solved or were no longer as stressful as before. The important thing is that, GOD TOOK CHARGE, because i let Him!!!

Now, If only my hubby didnt give me a new reason to drop a note everyday! 🙂

xoxo

Leave a comment